2016-2017 Insurer Annual Assessments

NEW ADDRESS


Arizona Department of Insurance
100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 261

Phoenix, AZ  85007-2630

Starting July 1, 2020, we will be the
Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI).

The Department of Insurance mailed most insurer annual assessments Friday, July 1.  Please either

  • remit payment with your assessment notice within the attached document (which contains assessment notices for all insurers), or
  • remit payment with the assessment notice you receive in the mail. 

Assessments are due July 29, 2016. 

Either

  • pay easily and electronically using your OPTins ASSESSMENT account (optins.naic.org), or
  • mail your assessment document with your payment made to INSURANCE DEPARTMENT ASSESSMENT. 

Note: No assessment is being levied at this time for the Assessment Fund for Voluntary Plans.  For insurers authorized to transact liability insurance, the line for that item intentionally shows $0 due.

sort descending
Arizona's Surprise Bill Resolution Report for 2019

As shown in the attached report prepared pursuant to A.R.S. § 20-3118(A), the Department of Insurance received 91 requests for dispute resolution in Calendar Year 2019.  Of those, 53 have been resolved or closed, and health plan enrollees saved $41,538 by submitting their surprise bills for resolution.  

Not all health care bills qualify for the surprise bill resolution process.  The Department's Suprise Out-of-network Billing Dispute Resolution website (https://insurance.az.gov/soonbdr, and especially the section entitled, "I got a surprise bill. Can I submit a request for arbitration?") lists conditions when a health care bill may not qualify under Arizona law for the dispute resolution process.  But for those that do, the enrollee will only be responsible for paying the enrollee's cost-sharing amounts (copay, coinsurance and deductible) if the enrollee provides information the Department needs, and participates in an informal settlement teleconference with the health care insurer and the health care provider.

Form C-RFI

An insurer completes and includes Form C-RFI when responding to a Department of Insurance request for information relating to a complaint from the insurer's customers.  Last updated 3/1/2017 @ 19:10.

Insurers Offering Individual Health Insurance in Arizona

Lists insurance companies that are offering health insurance to individuals and families in Arizona in 2020.  Open enrollment starts November 1st and now runs through December 17th, 2019.  Individuals can start shopping for coverage now at healthcare.gov or cuidadodesalud.gov (Spanish)

List of Domestic Surplus Lines Insurers

Surplus lines brokers must place business with an Arizona-authorized insurer when insurance is procurable from an authorized insurer.  When insurance is not procurable from an authorized insurer, a surplus lines broker may procure coverage from a Domestic Surplus Lines Insurer, from an insurer on Arizona's List of Qualified Unauthorized Surplus Line Insurers, or from an insurer on the NAIC Quarterly Listing of Alien Insurers.

List of Qualified Unauthorized Surplus Line Insurers

Surplus lines brokers must place business with an Arizona-authorized insurer when insurance is procurable from an authorized insurer.  When insurance is not procurable from an authorized insurer, a surplus lines broker may procure coverage from a Domestic Surplus Lines Insurer, from an insurer on Arizona's List of Qualified Unauthorized Surplus Line Insurers, or from an insurer on the NAIC Quarterly Listing of Alien Insurers.

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking - Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure Model Regulation In 2019, the Arizona Legislature adopted the NAIC Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure Model Act at Arizona Revised Statutes (“ARS”) by enacting the Corporate Governance Act at Title 20, Chapter 2, Article 16 (Laws 2019, 1st Reg. Sess., Ch. 180, § 1).   The Department of Insurance (“Department”) seeks to adopt the correlate Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure Model Regulation.  ARS § 20-492.02 allows the Department to adopt rules to carry out the Act upon notice and an opportunity to be heard.  The Legislature has exempted the Department from Title 41, Chapter 6 for one year after the effective date of the Act.  (Laws 2019, 1st Reg. Sess., Ch. 180, § 2.)
Regulatory Bulletin 2020-01

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage Offer Form; SB1087