Form L-PRV: Application for Provisional License

NEW AGENCY


Arizona Department of Insurance
100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 261

Phoenix, AZ  85007-2630


Starting July 1, 2020, we became the
Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI).


  • Use Form L-PRV to apply for provisional adjuster or surplus lines broker authority. 
  • Use the National Insurance Producer Registry (www.nipr.com) to apply for provisional insurance producer authority as well as for all other types of insurance professional licenses.
Governor's Executive Order 2020-17; Continuity of Work - License Requirements

On March 26, 2020, Governor Ducey issued Executive Order 2020-17, which allows agencies to defer certain license-related requirements under certain conditions.  The following three portions of the Executive Order that relate to the Department of Insurance license applicants and license-holders are as follows:

1.  A state agency can defer license renewal if requirements cannot be fulfilled online.   

  • All Department of Insurance license renewal requirements can be completed online; therefore, licensees must complete renewal requirements by or before the expiration dates on licenses.

2.  A state agency can defer continuing education requirements if continuing education cannot be completed online. 

  • Insurance producers may complete insurance continuing education online.  Until social distancing recommendations are lifted, insurance producers do not need to have post-course examinations proctored.

3.  When a pre-license examination is required that cannot be provided via electronic or remote format, a state agency must issue a provisional license to an applicant, unless prohibited by federal law or regulation, if the applicant has met all requirements for a license other than the examination.   

  • Our insurance license examination testing vendor, Prometric, has closed its testing centers in accordance with guidance from the US Centers for Disease Control
     
  • Pre-license examinations are not required of non-resident applicants or for business-entity applicants, who can apply for licenses online at any time using the National Insurance Producer Registry (www.nipr.com).
     
  • Because COVID-19 has caused pre-license insurance examinations and fingerprinting services to be unavailable, we have made provisional (temporary) licenses available to Arizona-resident individuals who meet all license requirements other than passing the exam and submitting fingerprints.  In accordance with the Executive Order,
    • a provisional license expires six months after the date issued;
    • once pre-license insurance examinations and fingerprinting services are made available, the Department shall notify each provisional license-holder by e-mail ("e-mail notification"), and a provisional license-holder shall have 20 days after the e-mail notification to pass the pre-license examination that corresponds to the authority held on the provisional license;
    • a provisional license-holder shall have 30 days after the e-mail notification to submit fingerprints to the Department;
    • a provisional license of a person who fails to pass the pre-license examination within 20 days after the e-mail notification shall be automatically suspended pursuant to Executive Order 2020-17, which will require the person to immediately cease conducting business requiring the license;
    • a provisional license (whether active or suspended) shall be converted to a permanent license once the provisional license-holder passes the pre-license examination and furnishes fingerprints to the Department.
       
  • To apply for a provisional license:
    • Use the National Insurance Producer Registry (www.nipr.com) if you are an individual wanting to apply for provisional Arizona-resident insurance producer authority.
       
    • Download, save, complete and submit Form L-PRV if you are an individual wanting to apply for provisional Arizona-resident adjuster or surplus lines broker license.