Press Release 2000-07 State Insurance Department Publishes Auto Premium Comparison Survey, Revised Auto Consumer Guide
Media Contact: Don Harris, Public Information Officer, (602) 912-8402
For Immediate Release April 19, 2000
The April 2000 edition of the Arizona Department of Insurance “Automobile Premium Comparison Survey” is available for consumers, Insurance Director Charles R. Cohen announced today. Premiums are quoted for 10 cities throughout the state.
In addition, the department has published a revised version of “A Consumer Guide to Automobile Insurance.” Both publications are free and are available on the Insurance Department’s web site at www.state.az.us/id or by calling (602) 912-8444 in Phoenix, (520) 628-6370 in Tucson, or statewide (1-800) 325-2548.
“A Consumer Guide to Automobile Insurance” explains the types of coverage, including mandatory minimums, and offers suggestions on how to shop for auto insurance and how to reduce your premium costs.
The semi-annual survey is intended to encourage consumers to compare prices when purchasing personal automobile insurance. “Price is always an important consideration, but consumers should also consider an insurer’s reputation for handling claims and policyholder service, and the specific insurance coverages available,” Cohen said.
Approximately 90 percent of the personal automobile insurance market in Arizona is represented by the 73 insurers that provided price quotations contained in the 56-page survey. Premiums are quoted for 12 hypothetical drivers whose ages, driving records and vehicle use vary.
The quotes are for drivers who live in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa, Glendale, Tucson, Casa Grande, Flagstaff, Nogales, Safford, and Yuma. The survey also includes a list of insurer telephone numbers and information describing basic insurance coverage.
“The information on types of coverage is helpful for prospective insurance purchasers, but I strongly recommend that consumers ask their professional insurance agents and brokers about coverage details,” Cohen said. “Consumers should read the insurance policy before purchasing it, and should not hesitate to ask questions.
“Consumers who consider changing auto insurers should be aware that Arizona has a non-cancellation law that limits the reasons an insurer may legally cancel a personal automobile insurance policy that has been in effect for more than 60 days,” Cohen said. “However, during the first 60 days a policy is in effect, an insurer may cancel the policy for any reason.”