Arizona Department of Insurance
100 North 15th Avenue, Suite 261

Phoenix, AZ  85007-2630

Starting July 1, 2020, we became the
Department of Insurance and Financial Institutions (DIFI).

Among other requirements, a travel insurance producer must remain in compliance with the following licensing-related requirements:

Maintaining a Register of Travel Retailers

As required by ARS § 20-333(A)(2), each travel insurance producer shall maintain a register of travel retailers in a manner that makes the register accessible to the Department of Insurance within 30 days of the Department's request.  The list may be maintained on paper, on electronic media, or both.  The travel insurance producer shall maintain an offsite duplicate of the list, and shall update the offsite version by not later than the second calendar day after updating the onsite version. The register shall contain the following information for each retailer:

  • Genuine legal name and federal tax identification number
  • Any other names under which the retailer advertises or conducts business 
  • Street address, city, state and ZIP code of the retailer's primary business location within Arizona
  • Name, office street address, city, state, ZIP code, e-mail address, and telephone number of the person who directs or controls the retailer's operations

A travel retailer may receive compensation for travel-insurance-related activities once registered by the travel insurance producer.  ARS § 20-333(E).

Travel Retailer Training

The travel insurance producer must require each employee and authorized representative of registered traveled retailers to complete a training program that, at a minimum, contains instruction on the types of insurance offered, ethical sales practices and information required to be disclosed to customers.  The Department of Insurance may ask to review the training program.  ARS § 20-333(A)(6).

Informing Travel Insurance Purchasers

A travel insurance producer is required to ensure that purchasers of travel insurance receive all the information set forth in ARS § 20-333(A)(1) and (C).

Other License Compliance Requirements

All insurance professionals (both residents and nonresidents) can apply for licenses, renew licenses, and update addresses and phone numbers online through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), at  

NIPR license and renewal applications are easy to complete, and we can usually process them faster than applications that are mailed to us. NIPR charges a small transaction fee (around $5 to $7) to process a license application and fee payment.  Many people have found that overall, the added convenience plus the time and postage savings are worth paying the fee. 

USE NIPR FOR FREE to change an address, e-mail address or phone number!

sort descending
Form L-177: Report of a Change to Members, Officers or Directors

A business entity must report a change to the entity's owners, partners, officers, or directors within 30 calendar days of the change.  A business-entity bail bond agent must also furnish a fingerprint card and $22.00 for each new officer.

Form L-193: Certificate of Assumed Name

Use this form for each name, other than your genuine legal name, that you intend to use in conjunction with your insurance business.  If you have established a business entity and want to use the name of the business entity in conjunction with your insurance transactions, the business entity must also hold an insurance license. 

Form L-LOC: Branch Locations

Self Service Storage Agents and Rental Car Agents must specify all office locations from which the entity may transact insurance business.

ARS § 41-1030(G) requires most Arizona government agencies to prominently print the provisions of ARS § 41-1030(B), (D), (E) and (F) on all license applications.  The following is the language in ARS § 41-1030(B), (D), (E) and (F):

B.        An agency shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule or state tribal gaming compact. A general grant of authority in statute does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless a rule is made pursuant to that general grant of authority that specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

D.        This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against the state.  The court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license application to a party that prevails in an action against the state for a violation of this section.

E.        A state employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section.  A violation of this section is cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the agency’s adopted personnel policy.

F.         This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02.