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TO:      All Rate Service Organizations, Property &
Casualty Insurers, Insurance Trade Associations,
And Other Interested Parties

FROM: John A. Greene
Director of Insurance

DATE: August 28, 1998

RE:      Senate Bill 1024; Loss Cost Filings

Senate Bill 1024, effective August 21, 1998, amended the Arizona
Revised Statutes, Title 20, Chapter 2, Article 4.1 (Article 4.1).
Article 4.1 applies to the rates of all property and casualty
lines of insurance except workers' compensation and related
employers' liability, title, and mortgage guaranty.

The purpose of this circular letter is to describe the most
significant amendments to Article 4.1.  However, this description
is not intended to be exhaustive.  Enclosed is a copy of the new
law, and we strongly encourage those impacted to review the
amendments carefully.

The most significant changes made to Article 4.1 are:

1.  A rate service organization may file "prospective loss costs"
instead of final rates on behalf of its member insurers.  A.R.S.
§ 20-385(A).

2.  If a rate service organization files prospective loss costs,
each member insurer shall file, on a form approved by the
Director, the "loss cost adjustment" and "loss cost modification
factors" applicable to the prospective loss costs.  A.R.S. § 20-
385(A).  The form approved by the Director is attached and
represents no substantive changes from that which has previously



been used by insurers and rate service organizations to make such
filings in Arizona.  A.R.S. § 20-385(A).

3.  An insurer is not required to file with the Director the
insurer's final rate pages that combine the prospective loss
costs separately filed by the rate service organization with the
loss cost adjustment and the loss cost modification factors filed
by the insurer.  A.R.S. § 20-385(C) and (D).

A.R.S. § 20-387(B) provides that an insurer may discharge its
obligations pursuant to A.R.S. § 20-385 by giving notice to the
Director that the insurer uses rates and supplementary rate
information prepared by a designated rate service organization.
The insurer's rates and supplementary rate information are those
filed by the rate service organization, including any amendments
to the rate as filed, subject to the modifications filed by the
insurer.  A.R.S. § 20-385 still requires every authorized insurer
and every rate service organization which has been designated by
any insurer for the filing of rates pursuant to A.R.S. § 20-
387(B) to file with the Director all rates and supplementary rate
information and all changes and amendments to those rates within
30 days after the rates become effective.

Therefore, if an insurer's designated rate service organization
files prospective loss costs the insurer must initially file its
corresponding loss cost adjustment and loss cost modification
factors within 30 days after the prospective loss costs become
effective.  Insurers may request to have their loss cost
adjustments remain on file and reference all subsequent rate
service organization prospective loss cost filings.  Upon receipt
of subsequent rate service organization prospective loss costs
filings, the insurers' rates shall be a combination of the
prospective loss costs and the adjustments contained in the
insurers' reference filing on file with the Director and will be
effective on the effective date of the prospective loss costs.
No further filings need to be made by the insurer if the insurer
has requested its loss cost adjustments to remain on file.

Insurers are reminded that notwithstanding these changes final
rates are prohibited from being excessive, inadequate or unfairly
discriminatory, and insurers are required to adhere to rates
based on their current filings.  A.R.S. §§ 20-383 and 20-385.

Should you have questions relative to this circular letter,
please direct them to Dean Ehler, Supervisor, Property and
Casualty Section, Rates and Regulations Division at (602) 912-
8461.














