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TO: Insurance Rating Organizations Insurance Industry Representatives; Insurance
Trade Associations; Property & Casualty Insurers; and, Other Interested Parties

From: Charles R. Cohen
Director
Date: January 23, 2003
RE: Revision of Private Passenger Automobile Property Damage Threshold For

Purposes Of A.R.S. § 20-1631(E)

The Arizona Department of Insurance (“Department”) administers the Arizona Revised
Statutes, Title 20, Chapter 6, Article 11, regarding the cancellation or nonrenewal of personal
automobile insurance. This article restricts the reasons an insurer may cancel or nonrenew a
personal automobile policy after it has been in effect for 60 days to the reasons set forth in
A.R.S. 820-1631(D). However, A.R.S. 820-1631(E) sets forth the conditions under which an
insurer is permitted to annually nonrenew no more than one-half of one percent of its personal
automobile policies.

For accidents occurring after January 1, 2000, A.R.S. 8§ 20-1631(E) requires the
Department to annually adjust and publish, to the nearest $10, the threshold amount of
property damages insurers may use to nonrenew private passenger automobile policies under
Subsection E. The threshold adjustment must be based upon the percentage change in the
all-items component of the consumer price index for all urban consumers (CPI-U) of the
United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). To date, the
Department has adjusted the threshold as follows:

Circular Letter Or Bulletin Date BLS' Property Damage
Number CPI-U Threshold
Circular Letter 2000-3 2/14/00 2.2% $1,840
Regulatory Bulletin 2001-1 2/7/01 3.4% $1,900
Regulatory Bulletin 2002-1 1/28/02 2.8% $1,950

This Substantive Policy Statement is advisory only. A Substantive Policy Statement does not include internal
procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of the Agency, and does not impose additional
requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules made in accordance with
the Arizona Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this Substantive Policy Statement does impose
additional requirements or penaltieis on regulated parties you may petition the agency under Arizona Revised
Statutes Section 41-1033 for a review of the Statement.
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The BLS’ most current United States’ City Average CPI-U is 1.6%. Therefore, as of this
date, the property damage threshold level is hereby increased to $1,980 ($1,950 X 1.016
rounded to the nearest $10). Insurers may not use Subsection E to nonrenew personal
automobile policies unless all of the requirements stated in A.R.S. § 20-1631(E) are met and
the property damage has exceeded $1,980 in 2003. The $1,980 threshold will remain in effect
until the Department publishes an adjusted threshold in 2004.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact Jack
Sneathen at (602) 912-8461.



