ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
PERSONAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
CONSUMER AWARENESS POINTS

In addition to the following consumer awareness points, visitors are encouraged to browse the Arizona Department
of Insurance website for other helpful auto insurance information. The Arizona Department of Insurance publishes
several consumer insurance resources, including A Personal Automobile Insurance Frequently Asked
Questions (FAQ), A Consumer Guide To Automobile Insurance and an Automobile Premium Comparison
Survey.

When considering automobile insurance purchases, consumers should bear in mind these
“Consumer Awareness Points:”

1.

Household,” “Family,” or “Intra-Family” Exclusion: Some automobile policies contain
an exclusion (commonly referred to as the “Household,” “Family,” or “Intra-Family”
Exclusion), which limits bodily injury liability coverage available to family members (or
residents of the household) injured as a result of the negligence of another insured.
Arizona law permits insurers to impose this Exclusion limiting such coverage to $15,000 per
person/$30,000 per occurrence (Arizona’s minimum financial responsibility limits), despite
the amount of liability coverage otherwise purchased under the policy. Typically, the
Exclusion states:

We do not provide Liability Coverage for any "insured" for "bodily injury" to you or any "family
member" to the extent that the limits of liability for this coverage exceed the limits of liability required
by the Arizona Financial Responsibility Law.

“Family member” and other key words important to this Exclusion are commonly defined in
the policy. To ensure that the policy meets their coverage expectations, consumers should
ask if the offered policy contains this Exclusion, and, if so, carefully read the Exclusion,
together with the entire policy, and consider the option of purchasing additional coverages
to assure that family members/household residents are covered for bodily injury to the
extent the consumer expects and intends.

Eligibility: In determining eligibility for coverage or price, insurers consider a number of
factors. However, two of the most commonly used by some insurers are:

a) A person’s credit history. “A Consumer Guide To Understanding How Insurers Use
Credit Information” is on the ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE web site at
www.azinsurance.gov and provides answers to the most frequently asked
consumer questions on how insurers use credit history to determine individual rates
and coverage availability.

b) Reports provided by organizations such as ChoicePoint which uses the Comprehensive
Loss Underwriting Exchange (C.L.U.E.) as exchanges for loss history information on an
insured, or a particular property. Participating member insurers exchange this prior loss
history information between members, sometimes without independent verification of
the validity of the information provided by other members. Consumers who believe the
information on their C.L.U.E. (or similar report) is erroneous should take steps to correct
it. Information on C.L.U.E. and how to correct a report may be obtained at the following
web site: www.choicepointinc.com.
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3. Non-Chargeable Automobile Accidents: Insurers are not permitted to increase the
“‘premium of an insured as a result of an accident not caused or significantly contributed to
by the actions of the insured.” A.R.S. § 20-263(A).

4. Automobile Sixty-Day Discovery Period: There is a sixty-day period during which
automobile insurance may be cancelled by the new insurer for any reason except the
location of residence, age, race, color, religion, sex, national origin or ancestry of anyone
who is an insured. A.R.S. § 20-1631(C) and (D).

5. Cancellation/Nonrenewal of an Automobile Policy: After a policy issued in Arizona has
been in effect for sixty days, or if it is a renewal, the policy may only be cancelled for one of
the following reasons found in A.R.S. § 20-1631(D):
¢ Non-payment of premium.

e The insurance was obtained through fraudulent misrepresentation.

e The named insured, any person residing in the same household as the named insured
and customarily operating the insured vehicle or any other person who regularly and
frequently operates a motor vehicle insured under the policy:

(a) Has their driver's license suspended or revoked during the policy period.

(b) Becomes permanently disabled (physically or mentally) and does not
produce a physician’s certificate regarding their ability to operate a motor
vehicle.

(c)Is or has been convicted during the thirty-six months immediately
preceding the effective date of the policy or during the policy period of:

(i) Criminal negligence, resulting in death, homicide or assault,
arising out of the operation of a motor vehicle.

(i) Operating a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated condition or
while under the influence of drugs.

(iii) Leaving the scene of an accident.

(iv) Making false statements in an application for a driver's license.
(v) Reckless driving.

e The insurer is placed in rehabilitation or receivership by the insurance supervisory
official in its state of domicile or by a court of competent jurisdiction or the director has
suspended the insurer's certificate of authority based on its financially hazardous
condition.

e The named insured, any person who resides in the same household as the named
insured and customarily operates a motor vehicle insured under the policy or any other
person who regularly and frequently operates a motor vehicle insured under the policy
uses a motor vehicle rated or insured under the policy as a private passenger motor
vehicle regularly and frequently for commercial purposes.

e The Director of Insurance determines that the continuation of the policy would place the
insurer in violation state laws or would jeopardize the insurer’s solvency.

6. Additional Reason for Nonrenewal of an Automobile Policy: In addition to the
authorization to nonrenew insurance provided in the third item referenced in paragraph 5
above, an insurer may nonrenew a motor vehicle insurance policy if the named insured,
any person who resides in the same household as the named insured and who customarily
operates a motor vehicle insured under the policy or any other person who regularly and
frequently operates a motor vehicle insured under the policy has had at any time during the
thirty-six months immediately before the notice of nonrenewal three or more at-fault
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accidents under any motor vehicle insurance policy issued by this insurer in which the
property damage paid by the insurer for each accident that occurs:

e On or after January 1, 2001, but prior to January 1, 2002, is more than $1,900;

On or after January 1, 2002, but prior to January 1, 2003, is more than $1,950;

On or after January 1, 2003, but prior to January 1, 2004, is more than $1,980;

On or after January 1, 2004, but prior to January 1, 2005, is more than $2,030; and

On or after January 1, 2005 is more than the applicable threshold amount for property
damage published by the Arizona Department of Insurance. A.R.S. § 20-1631(E).

. Option to Exclude the Offending Operator if Not the Named Insured: An insurer may
not cancel or nonrenew the insurance when a person other than the named insured has
violated the third item referenced in paragraph 5 above, or nonrenew the insurance
pursuant to paragraph 6 above due to the driving record of an individual other than the
named insured, if the named insured agrees in writing to exclude as insured the person by
name when operating a motor vehicle and further agrees to exclude coverage to the named
insured for any negligence which may be imputed by law to the named insured arising out
of the maintenance, operation or use of a motor vehicle by the excluded person. The
written agreement that excludes coverage under a policy for a named individual is effective
for each renewal of the policy by the insurer and remains in effect until the insurer agrees in
writing to provide coverage for the named individual who was previously excluded from
coverage. A.R.S. § 20-1631(F).
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