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ARIZONA CAPTIVE INSURANCE COMPANIES 

AUDITED FINANCIAL REPORT EXEMPTION STANDARDS AND FILING REQUIREMENTS 
  

 
General Instructions
 
An insurer may qualify for an exemption from filing the annual audited financial report required 
pursuant to A.R.S. §20-1098.07(B) in one of three ways: 
 

1. Automatic Exemption.  An insurer having direct premiums written of less than $1,000,000 in 
any calendar year, and less than 1,000 policyholders or certificateholders of directly written 
policies at the end of such calendar year, shall be automatically exempt from filing an audited 
financial report, except that insurers having assumed premiums pursuant to contracts and/or 
treaties of reinsurance of $1,000,000 or more will not be so exempt.  An insurer who qualifies 
for this automatic exemption is not required to make any application or execute an affidavit. 

 
2. Standardized Hardship Exemption.  An insurer not meeting the requirements for the 

automatic exemption above, may request a standardized hardship exemption if it meets the 
criteria in the attached Guidelines.  If you believe you meet the criteria for the standardized 
hardship exemption, you must complete and file the attached Affidavit with your Annual 
Report.   We will deem the standardized hardship exemption approved upon receipt.  We will 
notify you only in the event we deny the exemption. We may withdraw or rescind approval of 
the requested exemption if you do not meet all requirements in the Guidelines. 

 
3. Non-standard Hardship Exemption.  An insurer not meeting the requirements for either the 

automatic or standardized hardship exemption may request a non-standard hardship 
exemption from the annual audited financial report requirement.  You must apply for a non-
standard exemption by sending a letter requesting non-standard hardship exemption, signed 
by one of your officers avowing to the facts creating the hardship.  Non-standard hardship 
exemptions are subject to our review and approval.  We will notify you of our decision to grant 
or deny the non-standard hardship exemption application. 

 
 
Due Date 
 
You must file requests for standardized or non-standard hardship exemptions with your 
Annual Report.  Failure to request the exemption with your Annual Report will result in 
disapproval. 
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GUIDELINES FOR 
STANDARDIZED HARDSHIP EXEMPTION 

 
Arizona captive insurers must satisfy the following criteria to receive a standardized hardship 
exemption. 
 
1. You are a pure captive insurer holding a certificate of authority in the State of Arizona; and, 
 
2. You had direct premiums written of less than $1,000,000 and assumed premiums pursuant to 

contracts and/or treaties of reinsurance of no more than $5,000,000 for the calendar year of 
your application; and, 

 
3. You comply with the provisions of items 4 through 6 with respect to each reinsurance contract 

and ceding insurer; and, 
 
4. A trust account or custodial account is established with a qualified financial institution located 

in the United States which is organized under the laws of the United States or any State of the 
United States that has been granted authority to operate with fiduciary powers, in which assets 
equal to the net reserve credit taken by the ceding insurer for the business ceded are 
deposited or, in the alternative, the reinsurance agreement provides that funds will be withheld 
by the ceding insurer; and, 

 
5. The trust account or custodial account requires only the ceding insurer's (direct writer's) 

signature in order to withdraw funds and/or to pay claims, provided however, that with the 
approval of the ceding insurer, funds may be withdrawn by the assuming reinsurer providing 
that, after the withdrawal, the market value of assets in the trust account or custodial account 
shall be no less than 102 percent of the net reserves for the business ceded; and, 

 
6. You have obtained from the bank, as custodian or trustee, a verification and listing of assets 

held in a trust or custodial account as of the calendar year end for which the exemption is 
requested. 
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ARIZONA CAPTIVE INSURANCE COMPANY 
AUDITED FINANCIAL REPORT 

STANDARDIZED HARDSHIP EXEMPTION 
 
 

AFFIDAVIT 
 
 
State of  ) 
  )  ss.
County of  ) 
 
 
     
     
 I,           (name)         , being first duly sworn, upon my oath depose and say: 
 
  
 1. I am the        (title)        of          (Company Name)           , and am duly authorized to execute 
this affidavit on its behalf; and, 
  
 2.           (Company Name)         is a pure captive insurer holding a certificate of authority in the 
State of Arizona that has direct premiums written of less than $1,000,000 and assumed premiums pursuant 
to contracts and/or treaties of reinsurance of no more than $5,000,000 for the calendar year of this 
application; and, 
  
 3.          (Company Name)         complies with the provisions of items 4 through 6 of this affidavit 
with respect to each reinsurance contract and ceding insurer; and, 
  
 4. A trust account or custodial account is established with a qualified financial institution located in 
the United States which is organized under the laws of the United States or any State of the United States 
that has been granted authority to operate with Fiduciary power, in which assets equal to the net reserve 
credit taken by the ceding insurer for the business ceded are deposited or, in the alternative, the 
reinsurance agreement provides that funds will be withheld by the ceding insurer; and, 
  
 5. The trust account or custodial account requires only the ceding insurer's (direct writer's) 
signature in order to withdraw funds and/or to pay claims, provided however, that with the approval of the 
ceding insurer, funds may be withdrawn by the assuming reinsurer providing that, after the withdrawal, the 
market value of assets in the trust account or custodial account shall be no less than 102 percent of the net 
reserves for the business ceded; and, 
 
 6.        (Company Name)       has obtained from the bank, as custodian or trustee, a verification 
and listing of assets held in a trust or custodial account as of the most recent calendar year end. 

 
 

 
 Further affiant sayeth not. 
 

 
(Signature) 

           
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this  day of (Month) , (Year) 
 
 
Stamp or seal (Signature) 
         Notary Public 
My commission expires: 
 

(Date) 
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