Insurer's Name(s):

Review Requirements Checklist
Homeowners (HO); Line 4

NAIC #(S):
REFERENCE (See
REVIEW www.azleg.gov for REFERENCE
REQUIREMENTS applicable statute.) COMMENTS Form/Page/Para*

I. FORMS

Applications

Referenced In the Policy

A.R.S. §§ 20-398(A); 20-1102

If the application is incorporated by reference in or attached to the policy, the application must be filed.

Statements As
Representations, Not
Warranties

AR.S. §20-1109

Privacy Notice

A.R.S. 88 20-2104(C) and (D); 20-
2106; Unpublished Requirement

If the application OR the policy contains a notice of information practices (privacy act), the notice must
conform to the referenced statutes.

Fraud Must Be Material

A.R.S. § 20-463(A)

Blank Forms

Blank Forms

Unpublished Requirement

The ADOI will not approve blank forms. The forms should be completed in "John Doe" fashion to
illustrate the type of language that will be placed on the form.

Cancellation & Nonrenewal

Cancellation & Nonrenewal
Provisions

AR.S. § 20-1652

Notice (Policy Condition)

A.R.S. § 20-1654; Unpublished
Requirement

Insurers must give at least 30 days notice of their intention not to renew the policy or to condition its
renewal upon reduction of limits or elimination of coverage. This requirement should be included as a
condition of the policy.

Premium Return

AR.S. § 20-1113(C)

The policy must state the basis and rates upon which the premium is to be determined and paid if the
exact amount of premium is determinable only at stated intervals or at the termination of the contract
(e.g., prorata or short rate provisions).

Filing Standards

File and Use

A.R.S. § 20-398(A)

No policy form may be delivered or issued for delivery unless it has been filed with the Director and
either the Director has approved it or 30 days has elapsed and the director has not disapproved it as
ambiguous, misleading or deceptive. "Policy" includes all riders, clauses, endorsements and papers
attached to or made a part of the contract or agreement for effecting insurance.

Exemption Order

A.R.S. § 20-398(B); Exemption
Order

Certain forms have been exempted from filing requirements by Order of the Director. The insurer
should review the current exemption order located at www.azinsurance.gov prior to making any
submission to the Department in order to determine whether a filing is required or not.

General Provisions

Charter; Bylaws

AR.S.§20-1114

Contents Of The Policy

(Names) A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(1)
Contents Of The Policy
(Insurer) A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(2)

Contents Of The Policy
(Subject)

A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(3)iN
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Contents Of The Policy
(Risks)

A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(4)

Contents Of The Policy
(Time)

A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(5)

Contents Of The Policy
(Premium)

A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(6)

Contents Of The Policy
(Conditions)

A.R.S. § 20-1113(B)(7)

Assignment

AR.S. §20-1122

A policy may be assignable or not assignable, as provided by its terms. Personal injury rights are not
assignable. Allstate Ins. Co. v. Druke , 118 Ariz. 301, 576 P2d 489.

Standard Fire Policy

A.R.S. §§ 20-1503(A), 20-1504, 20-
1505, 20-1506, 20-1507, 20-1508,

No policy of fire insurance covering property located in Arizona shall be made, issued or delivered
unless it conforms as to all provisions of the basic policy commonly known as the New York standard
fire policy, edition of 1943 (165 lines). "Fire insurance" for the purpose of adding the 165 lines is

Provisions and 20-1509 insurance against the perils of fire or lightning.
Execution A.R.S. § 20-1116
lllegal Provisions
Annulment A.R.S. § 20-1123
No enabling law for property and
casualty group insurance as exists
for other types of insurance in Title
Group Policy 20; Unpublished Requirement There is no provision under Arizona insurance law to issue a group property and casualty policy.

Non-Licensed Entities

Unpublished Requirement

The form may not reference or refer the policyholder to agents, brokers, managing general agents or
other entities which do not possess an Arizona license and which are required pursuant to Title 20 to be
licensed in this State.

Titles Or Headings

AR.S.§ 20-1111(A)(3)

The form may not have titles or headings that are inconsistent with the provisions they identify.

Fire Department Service
Charge

A.R.S. § 20-103(B); Unpublished
Requirement

Arizona law states that private ambulance service contracts or private fire protection service contracts
are not insurance. Therefore, clauses addressing fire protection service contracts should not be
included in a policy of insurance and corresponding rates/rating rules addressing fire service contracts
are prohibited.

Void Policy Restrictions

AR.S.§20-1115

Invalidation Of The Policy

AR.S. § 20-229(C)

Readable and
Understandable Policies

AR.S. § 20-1110.01; A.A.C. R20-6-

Each insurer is required to test the readability of its policy using the Flesch Readability Formula. A total

readability score of 40 or more is required on the Flesch scale. The insurer should enter the Flesch

score in the space provided to the right. The insurer should read the entire rule to determine other

Flesch Score:

Readability 212 requirements of a readable policy.
A.R.S. § 20-1110.01; A.A.C. R20-6-
Size of Print 212 Size of print in the policy cannot be smaller than 8 point.

Standards (Forms)

Cannot Be Ambiguous,
Misleading Or Deceptive

A.R.S. §§ 20-398(A); 20-1111(A)(2)

The Department may rely on current Arizona case law when determining whether a clause is
ambiguous, misleading or deceptive.

Page 2



Review Requirements Checklist
Homeowners (HO); Line 4

REVIEW
REQUIREMENTS

REFERENCE (See
www.azleg.gov for
applicable statute.)

REFERENCE

COMMENTS Form/Page/Para*

Transmittal Form

Filing Transmittal Form

Unpublished Requirement

Paper filings must include a completed Property & Casualty Transmittal Document. The form may be
found at the Department's website: http://www.azinsurance.gov. As different laws apply, forms and
rates must be filed separately.

Il. RATES

Filing Requirements

Use and File

A.R.S. § 20-385(A)

Supporting Data

A.R.S. § 20-385(B)

Exemption Order

A.R.S. § 20-385(F); Exemption
Order

Certain rates have been exempted from filing requirements by Order of the Director. The insurer should
review the current exemption order located at www.azinsurance.gov prior to making any submission to
the Department in order to determine whether a filing is required or not.

Setting Rates

Rating standards

A.R.S. § 20-383

Rates shall not be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory.

Zip Code Rating

Unpublished Requirement

When an insurer elects to use zip code rating, the insurer's rating plan must include all zip codes.

Premium credit required

ARS. §20-224

Consideration

A.R.S. § 20-384(B)

Industrial Insured Experience

A.R.S. § 20-384(E)

General Filing References

Loss Cost Filing Procedure

ADOI FORM; Unpublished
Requirement

Arizona follows ISO format.

Consent To Rate Filings

A.R.S. § 20-385(E); Unpublished
Requirement

An insurer may file a rate in excess of that provided by an otherwise applicable filing on a specific risk if
the risk agrees. This procedure requires the completion of forms CTRF AZ 385-1 and CTRF AZ 385-2.

CERTIFICATION

I, , hereby certify that to the best of my
knowledge and belief that each form or rate filing involved in this filing: 1) Conforms to all of the
applicable requirements outlined above; 2) Contains no provision(s) previously disapproved or required
to be corrected and/or revised by the Arizona Department of Insurance; and 3) Does not exceed this
insurer's powers, the authority granted by its state of domicile, and its Arizona certificate of authority.

Signature of Officer:

Date:
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